Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Untitled

The Philippine Edmonton Events and Arts Society (PHIDEAS) presents

A tour of canada

through philippine eyes

A virtual event for SALUDO 2021: Canada-Wide Philippine Heritage Month

JUNE 27, 2021 (Sunday), 1:00 PM PST | 2:00 PM MST | 4:00 PM EST

Watch on ZOOM (Registration Required on Eventbrite - limited to 100 slots)

or Visit our Facebook Page for the Livestream.

From the Filipino enclaves of Toronto’s Little Manila, Vancouver’s Mount Pleasant, and Montreal’s Côte-des-Neiges, to cities such as Edmonton, Calgary and Winnipeg, to more remote towns and villages rarely represented in Canadian literature, writers will use a combination of pictures and literary work to showcase various neighborhoods, parks, landmarks, and other places across Canada, based on their unique perspective as an immigrant, newcomer, migrant worker, or second-generation child of immigrants.

Together, the various narratives from this diverse group of writers will shed light on the successes and challenges of a minority group, reveal systemic barriers faced by immigrant communities, and highlight Canadian heritage, diversity, and multiculturalism through a Filipino lens.

Gradient

MEET THE WRITERS

Click on their photo to view their profile!

OUR PARTNERS

3li_En_Wordmark_C.png
download.jfif
a2fdd9e09e6b948579c219b2c4a91df339ad9385
WGA-Color-Logo 75.jpg
1024px-TD_Canada_Trust_logo.svg.png

REGISTER NOW! 
Get a chance to win these books courtesy of the Writers' Guild of Alberta!